[HELP] stuck in weapon modding... - Beginner

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Alphabreen
x4

[HELP] stuck in weapon modding... - Beginner

Post by Alphabreen » Mon, 30. Dec 19, 00:11

Good evening,

i tried to modify the Beta 3.0 Argon Flak Turret. For this i followed this tutorial (viewtopic.php?f=181&t=402452).
I have to say, that i'm not very experienced in modding and never mod a X-Game before.

So i searched for the Bullet File of the Flak Turret - i changed the LIFETIME to increase the range, when this work i plan to reduce the damage to make it not overpowerd. But first increasing the range ...

I unpacked the X Files and searched for the Bullet file (bullet_gen_m_flak_01_mk1_macro.xml), there i changed the line: "<bullet speed="1500" lifetime="6" amount="1" barrelamount="1" timediff="0.1" angle="0.2" maxhits="1" ricochet="0" restitution="1" scale="0" attach="0" selfdestruct="1" />" with Notepad ++. For my understanding after the tutorial thread, if i increase the lifetime of the bullet the weapon range should increase...

I created a onw Mod folder in the Extension folder called : "Flak_Quad_Turbolaser_Turret"
Inside i copied and changed a content.xml file from a other mod (see below)

----content.xml----
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<content id="QuadTurboLaser" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="Change Flak into QuadTurbolaser" author="Alpha" version="100" date="2019-12-27" save="0">
<text language="7" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="QuadTurboLaser" author="Alpha" />
<text language="33" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="QuadTurboLaser" author="Alpha" />
<text language="34" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="QuadTurboLaser" author="Alpha" />
<text language="39" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="QuadTurboLaser" author="Alpha" />
<text language="44" name="QuadTurboLaser" description="QuadTurboLaser" author="Alpha" />