How do I add a edited xml file back into a catalog?

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Midnitewolf

How do I add a edited xml file back into a catalog?

Post by Midnitewolf » Thu, 15. Apr 21, 20:45

Hi Guys,

I am a complete newbie at doing anything involving editing files in a game and am trying to figure this out.

I am trying to add the missing drone capacity to TER defensive modules. I have managed to download X Tools from Steam, find the correct catalogs, use the Catalog Tool to extract them, edit the XML file (correctly I hope) and now need to take the modified files and put them back into the catalog and I am not 100% sure how to do this. Can anyone walk me though it?

daBeschi
x4

Re: How do I add a edited xml file back into a catalog?

Post by daBeschi » Fri, 16. Apr 21, 10:05

Hello,

This is not the way. You now know the file and path, so you should make a mod with a patch for this file entry. Help for patching HERE.

Put the File in your MOD in subfolder "assets\structures\defence\macros" :

Code: Select all

<diff>
  <add sel="/defence_ter_disc_01_macro/properties">
      <storage unit="15" />
  </add>
</diff>

or

<diff>
  <add sel="macro[@name='defence_ter_disc_01_macro']/properties">
      <storage unit="15" />
  </add>
</diff>
I'm not 100 % sure if this code is correct, but should give you an idea and I hope some experienced community member can correct me if I#m wrong.

Greetings

Midnitewolf

Post by Midnitewolf » Sat, 17. Apr 21, 07:18

daBeschi wrote:
Fri, 16. Apr 21, 10:05
Hello,

This is not the way. You now know the file and path, so you should make a mod with a patch for this file entry. Help for patching HERE.

Put the File in your MOD in subfolder "assets\structures\defence\macros" :

<diff>
  <add sel="/defence_ter_disc_01_macro/properties">
      <storage unit="15" />
  </add>
</diff>

or

<diff>