[Question] How to use vanilla textures in blender

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Flippi
x3tc

[Question] How to use vanilla textures in blender

Post by Flippi » Tue, 23. Nov 21, 17:55

Hello there, forum.

I have a short, and rather embarrassing question that I haven't seen answered anywhere. How do I work with the vanilla game textures inside blender (or any 3d program for that matter). All I got are rar files of them and if I unpack them, I get 'file' files, which are not helpful at all.

What I am trying to do:

I have ship models, loads of them (from X3 AP). But they aren't textured and not ready to work in the X4 game environment (but can be imported into blender, UE4 or many other programs due to them being .obj files). So I thought I'd go and learn how to do that myself and start with texturing ships as a first step on my way to do that. I want to use vanilla textures because firstly, they do look better than the aging X3 ones, secondly, 'new' textures probably wouldn't work with the paint mods without hassle, and thirdly, because the vanilla textures are already there. And no before you ask, my ships were cconverted with gmax, so they aren't textured and smoothed out at all sadly. If I'd have 3dsmax, I'd already converted the majority of X3 ships. But alas, I don't, so I have to use what I got.

I haven't found anything regarding X4 textures anywhere. And it's driving me a bit mad. Maybe I overlooked something, which is possible. So I appreciate any kind of direction.

Another question regarding the forum here: Why is there no general Script and modding question thread? I mean, I would have asked there instead of opening up a new thread. And considering I might have many more questions about other topics, I really don't feel like creating too many threads over time.
KI Schiffsnamen/AI Shipnames