[Help] Modifying Terran ship in Blender

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

AkiraR
x3tc

[Help] Modifying Terran ship in Blender

Post by AkiraR » Sun, 7. Apr 24, 04:05

Ok so first off I am a complete newb when it comes to Blender or any kind of artistic 3D modeling software, my experience with 3D modeling is solely limited to the engineering world where stuff like vertex coloring etc. simply aren't a thing. So forgive me if I don't understand even the most basic stuff.

I want to modify the model of the Gladius. I've spent ~16 hours or so over the last two days looking at the tutorials and screwing around with blender and these are the results:

Before:
[ external image ]
After:
[ external image ]

As you can hopefully see changing the model worked fine however now the coloring and textures have gotten screwed up.

The workflow that got me here is as follows:
Convert game files to .dae using XRConvertersMain.exe -> import into Blender -> press the "Convert" button added by the Egosoft Blender tools -> save the .blend to p1[assets] -> re-open the .blend, make my edits -> use V-HACD to generate hulls for the parts I edited -> export with the Egosoft Blender tools -> put only the .xmf and .jcs files for the bits that I changed into a subst_01.cat and then load that into the game.

Something is clearly happening either in converting the game files to .dae or in the "Convert" action that comes with the Egosoft Blender tools that is breaking how the colors and textures are applied to the mesh and I don't know how to fix it.
I have tried using the "Convert UV/VC" button instead of the regular "Convert" button however that ends up breaking a lot of things. First I get all these extra objects? (I think that is what they are called?) Like:
anim_mainXlod0Xp1terranXter_p1_fx_01