To many places, too many hidden details:

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Hank001
x3ap

To many places, too many hidden details:

Post by Hank001 » Fri, 24. Feb 06, 18:07

:D I'm an old Freelancer Modder whose created about 100+ Ships for
their mods over the years and now I'm into X3. I've got all the
3D modeling tools and the DDS plugins for Photoshop, but what I'm
looking for is a COMPREHENSIVE guide on how to get a .3DS model
with .DDS textures into X3, from start to finish, Step by step, this
hunting around is rediculious. You need 1 place to download the tools
and one singular guide on the how-to and nuts and bolts details.
REMEMBER, we few real 3D Designers are not primarily computer
programmers and things programmers take for granted might simply
have not occurred to us. With one lump sum download with the
ENTIRE toolkit for .3DS conversions and programming TOOLS and
one COMPREHENSIVE guide then perhaps interest in model modding
for X3 might increase a bit.

(((Or is that what your AFRAID of?)))

Edit 11 years in the making:
And low from a humble challenge what great things developed!
(Well maybe not so humble, but someone had to shake the tree.)
Now 11 years later I'm retired. Modding and modeling is going to
be a hobby instead of a job. It took me all of 90 minutes after pulling together all the updated tools from centralized links, brush up by reading all the great tutorials over and 90 minutes to pull good old Argon_M1 out from cat to bob to bod and get her textured. Things have truly changed. At least here, for much for the better. Ad Astra. Hank001. :)
Last edited by Hank001 on Wed, 14. Feb 18, 05:17, edited 3 times in total.

Jackshyt
x3tc

Post by Jackshyt » Fri, 24. Feb 06, 18:35

As a 3D modeller with ZERO programming skills, this sounds like a good plan to me.