[script] Improved Xenon v0.95: Updated June 17, 2008

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Fri, 2. May 08, 10:26

In short, no I don't change the names of captured sectors, just the owner race. For the longer explanation read on...

First of all, I am not even sure I could change the names while in-game :lol:
Perhaps $sector -> Set Name to "Xenon 042" would work though.
However, even if I did change the names there is no way to change the vocals spoken when dealing with that sector since they are hard-coded into the universe map. You can see that the owner race is set to Xenon when you look at the sector in the universe map though.

User avatar
X2-Eliah
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 16:30
x3tc

Post by X2-Eliah » Fri, 2. May 08, 13:09

Sector names do not change.
Atleast in my game they do not.

User avatar
narn
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun, 9. Apr 06, 21:07
x3

Post by narn » Sun, 18. May 08, 22:34

Hey I hope you get the ball rolling on fixing the overflow problem on this script because I'm literally unwilling to play until I can get the updated version of this in my game. Please hurry!! lol
Image

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Mon, 19. May 08, 04:45

Work has finally calmed down so I will being playing with X over the next few days and should have version 1.0 out by early next week. Besides the obvious problems with too many Xenon being created are there any other requests/problems that should be addressed?

User avatar
X2-Eliah
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 16:30
x3tc

Post by X2-Eliah » Mon, 19. May 08, 14:06

Hmm... How are the stations built? Do they convert ships, or is it just spawned in?

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Tue, 20. May 08, 07:54

Currently the stations are just spawned after the sector has been clear for a time (depending on difficulty). Been thinking of making the Xenon build something that can drop stations (Mammoth if neither J's or K's can) and ship the station to the proper sector, but more concerned about balancing the invasions right now :) .

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Tue, 20. May 08, 08:55

Have a J turn into a station. 8)

User avatar
Locksley
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri, 18. Mar 05, 17:26
x3tc

Post by Locksley » Sun, 25. May 08, 00:55

You know, I was looking at Nividium's script with Xenon virus - his "Nividium XENON Assimilation Virus". Maybe some kind of spin off to this idea could be incorporated into the mod.

I haven't dared installing Nividium XENON Assimilation Virus into my game :roll: What I would like to do first is to make the "Virus" ships very visible so you will at least get a bigger chance to avoid 'em. And or maybe some tweaks so the spreading of the virus is more controlled, that is more adjustable. But I haven't looked at the scripts them selfs so I'm not sure exactly how they go about things (doesn't mean I would know even if I did have a look, considering my lack of knowledge when it comes to scripting).

Watching your Khaak plugin too - very interesting.

Cheers!

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Mon, 26. May 08, 05:13

Bleh...delays.

I put in a little work on IX this weekend and have implemented most of the features I want to, but I think there is a minimal delay loop bug in one of the scripts. It does not lock it up because there is a wait from a script call or something, but it is constantly looping and causes my laptop to heat up quite fast :o . I'll have to put in full logging and track it down so I don't over-use resources.

The use of existing Xenon ships to create the stations is possible, I may do that in the future :)

I've not even heard of the Xenon assimilation virus script, sounds kinda nasty O_o

zazie
Posts: 3455
Joined: Mon, 7. Mar 05, 15:55
x4

Post by zazie » Mon, 26. May 08, 13:17

7ate9tin11s wrote:the stations are just spawned after the sector has been clear for a time (depending on difficulty).
As I can't find a hint in the opening post: depending on the difficulty-level of your game start ?? Or is this a setting of your script ?
Benutzer in diesem Forum: Keine

User avatar
X2-Eliah
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu, 12. Oct 06, 16:30
x3tc

Post by X2-Eliah » Mon, 26. May 08, 16:51

Setting of script. The start difficulties do not actually matter in any aspect in game, save for your starting ship and rep.

SevenKiller
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue, 27. Apr 04, 22:00
x3tc

Post by SevenKiller » Tue, 27. May 08, 01:44

EDIT: Its ok sorted it now.

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Tue, 27. May 08, 09:45

@Sevenkiller

...seeing edits like that make me wonder what I missed while asleep... :lol:
Then again, usually people post while I am asleep due to time zone differences :P

@zazie

I really do need to put up a full list of option effects, don't I...
Though this does not contain some extra things like missiles and droppable timers this should help in the future:

Code: Select all

                       Easy     Normal    Hard    Insane
Station build time       25         20      15        10
Token min                25         40      75       200
Token increase rate      25         40      75       200
Token max               100        160     300       400
Build timer (seconds)    45         30      20        10
You will also need the token/time chart:

Code: Select all

        M1  M2  M3  M4  M5  M6  M7  Unknown
Tokens  60  55   8   4   1  14  35      1-8
Time*   40  40   6   2   1  12  20      1-8

*+1 for each docked ship (randomly chosen)
Hope that helps everyone :)

zazie
Posts: 3455
Joined: Mon, 7. Mar 05, 15:55
x4

Post by zazie » Tue, 27. May 08, 12:04

Hey, thanks for the chart ! Alas I need some help for interpretation:

- What is the unit of Station build time ? hours or minutes ?
- Is it correct to read (as an example): In Normal mode the Xenon build/spawn a new station 20 [hours/minutes] after the Sector has been cleared
- What is 'token' ?

Sorry for such newbie-questions but I am not familiar with scripting :oops: .
Benutzer in diesem Forum: Keine

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 810
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Wed, 28. May 08, 04:32

Ah, the station build time is in minutes :)

As for tokens, they are just a number that determines the basic power of the ships that can participate in an invasion wave. For example, in a the first invasion wave in normal mode there are 40 tokens that can be used. This means the invasion could consist of 40 N's, 10 M's, 5 L's or some mix of ships that use up the 40 tokens according to the chart. Hope this helps :)

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”