[Genuine Question] AMD or Intel

Anything not relating to the X-Universe games (general tech talk, other games...) belongs here. Please read the rules before posting.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

MarvinTheMartian
x4

[Genuine Question] AMD or Intel

Post by MarvinTheMartian » Sat, 24. Nov 18, 23:31

My current rig is 5 years old: i7-4770k + HD7850 with 32GB DDR3

I've been building my own for ~25 years and always used Intel, however, in the last couple of years AMD seem have have (more than) caught up so I'm interested in hearing from anyone who has made the switch in the last few years and if there are any gotchas or other considerations.

Looking at some benchmarks and reviews a good price/performance level has the Ryzen 2700X well ahead of i9-9900k/i7-9700k particularly when you factor in cooling. Relative price is more important than actual price so I could consider the TR2920X but that would be the price limit and I can also get the 9900k (excl. cooling) for 20% less than 2920X today & tomorrow.

While I don't need the top tier CPU, longevity is important, I don't expect to replace/upgrade for at least another 3-5 years.

Main uses/considerations are:
  • Virtualbox (1 or 2 smallish Linux guests)
  • Handbrake
  • Productivity e.g. Large MS Excel calcs & MS Project
  • Gaming e.g. X4 so single/quad performance is important
  • TPM would be nice but I don't expect that's available on consumer boards/CPU
  • Not always on so power consumption not a big concern
  • Noise level (air cooling only) is a factor
  • No overclocking except any auto option on the mobo
I like to have plenty of RAM headroom, quad channel sounds good but not sure I'd ever benefit from it. Nvidia will probably be GPU of choice, got badly burned with Radeon a few years ago and not forgiven that yet, the HD7850 was effectively free and replaced a struggling GTX570. Already have an NVMe SSD for the OS.

Cheers.