Scripting for Increased Accessibility

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

CaplinCaplin
x3ap

Scripting for Increased Accessibility

Post by CaplinCaplin » Sat, 19. Jan 19, 05:09

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the X series, and trying to get a handle on how best I can play these games as someone who is totally blind. It occurs to me that I might be able to script a few tools to help with areas which are difficult for me, such as manual trading.

The screen reader has reasonable OCR functionality, which I use regularly, but I was wondering what sorts of things I might be able to do with scripts? (I've obtained a copy of the XStudio, which seems like it will be more accessible than the built-in editor.)

Are scripts able to, say, call external programs? I might be able to use one to feed some information to my speech synthesizer, rather than depending exclusively on the game's computer voice.

I'm trying to avoid disturbing the core game play experience as much as I can. My goal is a "quality of life," improvement for the blind, so to speak. I believe this game has a great deal of potential for accessibility and enjoyment already, if I can overcome a few hurdles.

Thanks for any thoughts. :)

X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
x4

Re: Scripting for Increased Accessibility

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Sun, 20. Jan 19, 19:40

CaplinCaplin wrote:
Sat, 19. Jan 19, 05:09
Are scripts able to, say, call external programs? I might be able to use one to feed some information to my speech synthesizer, rather than depending exclusively on the game's computer voice.
No, scripts cannot call external programs. The only thing you can do with scripts is writing text to an external logfile and reading in text from a textfile.
Nun verfügbar! X3: Farnham's Legacy - Ein neues Kapitel für einen alten Favoriten