TP or TS for Factory Trading???

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Jabali

TP or TS for Factory Trading???

Post by Jabali » Fri, 16. Dec 05, 03:26

Hi, I'm new to the X3 universe and am going to try my hand at setting up factories. I was thinking of starting by getting an ore mine and silicon mine in ore belt. I would appreciate some help on what ship I should use to buy energy cells for the mines and what ship I should use to sell the ore.

Are TP's or TS's better?
What kind of TP or TS should I get?
Also what should I set the mines parameters to? Funds, sectors, etc.

Thank you very much for helping out this noob.

-Jabali

Suicidemoon
x3tc

Post by Suicidemoon » Fri, 16. Dec 05, 03:56

TS have more room..........the teldi have the most room i think.....but the argon is faster than the others....

shodan1138
x3

Post by shodan1138 » Fri, 16. Dec 05, 04:01

A TS has a huge cargo bay, and can carry XL-sized goods. They tend to be a little on the slow side, though.

A TP has a decent cargo bay (750-1150 cargo, depending on the type), and the speed is a little bit faster than TS ships. *However*, in X3, a TP can only carry S-sized goods.

So it kind of depends on what you'll actually be trading. That is, what size the cargo is.

EDIT: So, to summarize: To sell Ore or Sillicon, you will *need* a TS ship of some variety, since those materials are XL-sized. But, the ship you use to purchase Energy Cells can be anything you like, since E-Cells are S-sized wares (which every ship can carry). A fast fighter might even work.

Dgn Master
x3tc

Post by Dgn Master » Fri, 16. Dec 05, 04:03

Might be good to know that no TP class chips can carry any ware that is XL in size. If you plan on selling your ore you will only be able to use TS class ships for this.