The Ecliptic projector

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

mcsquared
x3tc

The Ecliptic projector

Post by mcsquared » Sun, 5. Nov 06, 17:13

As a newbie I've having trouble using the Ecliptic projector. I've got it installed in my Mercury but when I press "g", all I get is a hum indicating I did something but the visual on my nav map is the same. Any help would be very appreciated.

R.Styles
x3tc

Post by R.Styles » Sun, 5. Nov 06, 17:23

It actually projects a grid in space, although i'v had trouble getting it to work in every sector. If in doubt go to the centre 0, 0, 0 & try it, you should see it then.

Jankes
x3

Post by Jankes » Sun, 5. Nov 06, 17:28

That grid doesn't cover the whole system and sometimes it's difficult to see. Try to fly to the center of the system or if you are there and still can't see it turn around
De Oppresso Liber

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Nanook » Sun, 5. Nov 06, 19:29

The Ecliptic Projector was quite useful in X-BTF and X-Tension when placing stations or just getting your bearings. It was less useful in X2 and is pretty much worthless in X3. It's simply not been upgraded sufficiently as the sector sizes increased and became less regular. Only buy it if you have to have every single upgrade installed on your ship. :wink:
Have a great idea for the current or a future game? You can post it in the [L3+] Ideas forum.

X4 is a journey, not a destination. Have fun on your travels.

Carl Sumner
x4

Post by Carl Sumner » Mon, 6. Nov 06, 04:33

It works for me. It looks smaller in large sectors, but I can still see it. Try going up or down a little, you might be looking at it edge-on. :)
Tinker

"If engineers built buildings the way programmers write programs, the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization!"

Criminal_Colt
x2