Noob questions, wingmen, etc.

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Kha'ak bait

Noob questions, wingmen, etc.

Post by Kha'ak bait » Sun, 14. Jan 07, 15:04

So, I'm a total noob when it come to the X-universe. [shrug] That's OK by me, everyone should have unexplored frontiers to keep life interesting. But there's a few things niggling me... mainly lack of documentation about small details. I've read the FAQs, done some searches, scratched my head and am still none the wiser.

Wingmen: does setting the wingmen flag do anything besides allow you to filter them out in the listings?

What are the formations used by wingmen? Some are obvious (line, delta, x) but what's x-delta? I assume that's just an X formation with the leader in an advanced position?

Does the squad leaders Formation setting have any effect on the formation? Or does it only apply to any ships he (hence the squad) are following/protecting? Would this allow me to set up a convoy of TS/TPs in line formation and have 4 squads of 5 M3/4/5's (each in delta formation) following the convoy leader in an x-delta formation?

Questions, questions, questions. :D

Oh, yeah... another one. The boost extension. AFAICT it just permits you to accelerate more rapidly, correct? So why does it have a keystroke? Surely it's either on or off all the time... else it'd just be another afterburner, wouldn't it? And if you have it, what's the point in turning it off? Does it consume energy? Why assign a key at all?

Ooh! Ooh! A couple more!

Patrols. HOW? I can manually steer a point by point route of course, but is there any way to define route in advance and then assign a squad to follow it?