(X3)The range of the PBE - a bug or what?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Elbi

(X3)The range of the PBE - a bug or what?

Post by Elbi » Fri, 23. Mar 07, 11:17

Hello to all of you! :)
This is my firs post here, but I'm not a newbie in the X-univerce! So far I fund answers for my questions and problems by myself reading the forum, but not this time. :cry:
I equiped my Xenon LX (my lovely "Konoko" :xenon: ) with 6 HEPT-s (for the big targets) and 2 Alpha PBE-s (for the small fast-moving ones). This configuration worked fine, the PBE-s have a range of more than 2 km. What I was thinking at that point: "If I find some Beta PBE-s, I will mount them all! More damage, great range, fast projectile! What else you want?"
Later I managed to salvage some Beta PBE-s from a destroyed Xenon P immediately installed all 8 of them on my ship. Then I was totally dissapointed of the mizerable 1 km range of the weapons. I looked at weapons statistics and find the range of the PBE-s:
- Alpha PBE - 0.95 km
- Beta PBE - 1 km
I returned to my previous weapon config (6 HEPT and 2 BPBE) and SURPRISE! I hit the targets over 2 km away with the PBE-s! What the Bizani it's goin on? :S
Please don't kick my bastu if that topic is allready discused, just post me a link!
Good bye and have a nice game! :x3:

xalien
x4

Post by xalien » Fri, 23. Mar 07, 11:28

You mean you select your 2 PBE's as a separate group from 6 AHEPT's, fire from 2 km and hit?

Sirus5
x4

HEPT & PBE

Post by Sirus5 » Fri, 23. Mar 07, 11:30

The PBE do have a small range, but the HEPT are longer range.

Probably what you found was that both HEPT and PBE were firing and the HEPT hit over 2km away, but the PBE's although firing woudl not hit at that distance.

Elbi

Post by Elbi » Fri, 23. Mar 07, 11:30