Mac OSX 10.4.10 & X3

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

a54bclw

Mac OSX 10.4.10 & X3

Post by a54bclw » Tue, 23. Oct 07, 15:38

I have an Imac computor with2.16ghz Intel
core duo processors, running Mac OSX version 10.4.10
I am new to gaming and am unsure if X3 will run on my machine now, and with the new OSX Leopard that is coming out on 10/26/07.
This game looks totally cool and I would love to buy it but am unsure if it will work on my system. Can any one help??

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
x4

Post by CBJ » Tue, 23. Oct 07, 16:10

You are asking in the wrong place. The Mac version was developed by Virtual Programming and they are probably the only people who would be able to answer your question.

a54bclw

Post by a54bclw » Tue, 23. Oct 07, 16:13

Thanks for your help and a quick answer!

a54bclw

X-Morgan
x4

Post by X-Morgan » Tue, 23. Oct 07, 19:16

Maybe I can help you a54bclw

I've got a MacBook Pro 15 inch 2.4 GHz, 2GB RAM and the 256MB variant of the GeForce 8600

On the Mac version done by VP it run reasonably well, although there is times of graphical corruption such as the entrance lights on the gates being big black placeholders. Also Postprocessing doesn't work and it seems that even though everything is turned to 'High' there is lack of dynamic lighting and shader support running. (You can see the difference when looking at the Station background in the Main Menu)

On the Windows BootCamp install, the game runs absolutely amazing. 1440x900 with 4xAA and 16xAF and everything stays very smooth and stable.

My suggestion is that you use BootCamp. The X1600 should be fine for X3.

Just steer clear of Cider wrapped Mac games, it's a waste of money. It's a virtualised Windows version and since X3 runs on DirectX the performance will never be satisfactory.