SETA not working?

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict, X³: Albion Prelude or X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

TheLure
x4

SETA not working?

Post by TheLure » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 19:55

Hi,

I'm new to the game and it's not exactly easy to learn the interface so it's possible I'm doing something wrong... but: If I understand things correctly, SETA = Time acceleration. My problem is that activating SETA does nothing at all. I press the "j" key and there is some kind of sound... but I can't notice time going any faster. Also I see there is this small gray "clock" left of the "my ship"-panel. The tool-tip there says "Singularity Engine Time Accelerator". It's always gray whatever I do.

How do I activate time acceleration?

EDIT: Might add that I'm running version 1.2.1.

pjknibbs
x4

Post by pjknibbs » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 21:15

Sounds like the game is starting SETA and then immediately disengaging it because of some sort of control input. If you can activate SETA fine while the ship is on autopilot that would confirm this. Do you have a joystick or other game controller plugged in?

Oh, and we could do with a DxDiag, as it asks in the sticky thread at the top of this forum.

TheLure
x4

Post by TheLure » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 21:53

pjknibbs wrote:Sounds like the game is starting SETA and then immediately disengaging it because of some sort of control input. If you can activate SETA fine while the ship is on autopilot that would confirm this. Do you have a joystick or other game controller plugged in?

Oh, and we could do with a DxDiag, as it asks in the sticky thread at the top of this forum.
Ah, that's it.