X-BtF keyboard problems

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

raithe

X-BtF keyboard problems

Post by raithe » Sat, 13. Mar 10, 05:52

I found my X BtF cd (not gold just btf) in a drawer the other day and decided to give it a try. I've installed it on four different systems ranging from a PII 300 to a modern dual-core and they all have the same problem. The keyboard response is horrible. They hang, they don't respond, they lag, after a while (half hour-ish) the whole keyboard stops responding entirely. PS2, AT, USB, Laptop all the same. Any ideas at all here would be greatly appreciated.

(On a sidenote I find it funny that X2 has great keyboard response and horrible mouse lag.)

kizito
xr

Post by kizito » Sat, 13. Mar 10, 07:35

im not an expert but is the keyboard wireless??? i also suggest you post in the tech support area for a better reply.

Cheers

Rapier
x3tc

Post by Rapier » Sat, 13. Mar 10, 10:02

There isn't a Tech Support forum for X-BtF; it would be rather quiet if there was! I know in later versions there was a '-lowpri' switch you could use in the command line that made things better. I don't know if the same applies to BtF though.
Rapier - The Orifice of all Knowledge

Godwin's Law is not one of the Forum Rules.
Search just the forum with Google

raithe

Post by raithe » Sat, 13. Mar 10, 11:50

Rapier

The switch doesn't seem to work for BtF (v 1.96) however alt-tabbing and setting the priority to "below normal" manually does seem to help considerably. I feel kinda foolish for not thinking of that myself as I've seen it resolve input issues in other games.

The controls are still too touchy, but no longer hang or stop responding. Before I had two speeds 0 and 100%, and if I more than tapped a direction or roll key it resulted in a 10 second spin. Needless to say that made docking..... challenging.