Keybourd/Mouse/Stick setup

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Risky
xr

Keybourd/Mouse/Stick setup

Post by Risky » Fri, 9. Apr 10, 00:09

I was wondering how other people set up to play the game (X3TC at the moment but should apply to all).

When I first got X2 I got a Saitek Cyborg Evo which promptly gave me aches in my right hand due to some ergonomic issues (Nowhere to rest the lower fingers below the trigger - solved by taping a wine cork to the stick) and as I’m a developer by trade I thought I better learn to fly left-handed rather than risk any RSI issues on my mouse hand. Now the Evo had a central throttle so I could reach my right hand over to adjust this and I when I didn't need to I could strafe using the keyboard or select targets with the mouse.

Now I'm currently working away from home in the week and just got started X3TC and bought myself a nice new Cyborg X to stay up in London (and aG500 mouse for good measure). Thought the new stick is much better in terms of adjustability and ergonomics, it has the throttle control to the left of the base so if I fly left handed I have to reach right round behind the stick to trim the speed. I have switched the stick to the right of keyboard so the layout is now Keyboard-Mouse-Stick which I suppose makes more sense to most.

I think taking some time to get the right controls set on the stick would be the best approach, then I wouldn't need the keyboard so much, but I then with two stick to set up I keep putting it off. Then again sometimes I'm not looking to get into much combat in a session, particularly if I'm playing on the laptop when travelling (the XPS16 does rather well so far), I don't bother with the stick and play mouse and keyboard only.

Anyway, after all that I wondered how everyone else sorts it out?

Deadbeat_Spinn
x3tc