Phased Repeater Gun VS PAC

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

rujikin
x3tc

Phased Repeater Gun VS PAC

Post by rujikin » Mon, 10. May 10, 18:56

I'm trying to figure out what to equip my traders and M4's with. I have never used a PRG before and most of my ships can use it.

What is the differences between the PRG and the PAC in combat and OOS combat?
Using X3 AP + All TC plots enabled

pjknibbs
x4

Post by pjknibbs » Mon, 10. May 10, 19:04

PRG does slightly more damage, uses slightly more energy, has slightly longer range, and a MUCH faster speed of shot. That makes it better against small, fast ships. OOS it's probably about the same.

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Nanook » Mon, 10. May 10, 19:12

However, the PRG has a much smaller 'bullet' size than the PAC, and so tends to miss more often at longer ranges. For AI-controlled ships, I generally prefer the PAC, mostly because it's so much cheaper than the PRG. You can get 3 PAC's for the price of one PRG, and still have some cash left in your pocket.
Have a great idea for the current or a future game? You can post it in the [L3+] Ideas forum.

X4 is a journey, not a destination. Have fun on your travels.

Baddieus
x4

Post by Baddieus » Mon, 10. May 10, 19:46

PRG's are excellent for turret missile defense, due to the previously mentioned speed of shot. For main guns, I agree with Nanook on the PAC.

rujikin
x3tc

Post by rujikin » Mon, 10. May 10, 20:10

Ok thanks! Maby the PRG will work better than my Fragmentation bomb launcher at destroying missles. Thing never works and always misses enemies -_-
Using X3 AP + All TC plots enabled

ezra-r
x4

Post by ezra-r » Mon, 10. May 10, 20:47

Nanook wrote:However, the PRG has a much smaller 'bullet' size than the PAC, and so tends to miss more often at longer ranges. ....