[TC] Hyperion refuses to be capped - advice please

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

laff
x3tc

Hyperion refuses to be capped - advice please

Post by laff » Sat, 23. Oct 10, 11:25

Im fairly new to capping, but have got a cobra and about 30 marines at 4-5 in trainable skills and 2-5 in fighting. 5 of the marines are 4-5 in fighting.

My target, though a cliche by now is a hyperion for my personal ship.

I have so far capped a Zeus and Agg..... but cant for the life of me cap a hype.

Ive tried so far:

Using a few hammers followed by flails - hard to judge how many will hit the target, and i keep blowing it up.

Using my skiron personally to strip the sheilds (works fine except AFTER the sheilds have gone the hype keeps suiciding itself with a big explosive missile) (it had at least a few torpedoes and a beluga amongst it weapons)

This particular hyperion seems to be a target for the vultures, a terran scimitar and pirate Kea have finished it off after the fails have started flying.

Despite this i have managed to get my top team of marines into the ship (the five 4-5 fighting guys), unfortunately they keep dying on me, usually pretty quickly.

The hype in question does not appear to have any defensive measures in place, any ideas?

Im not adverse to the odd reload and try again, but the marines arent even clearing a deck ( I dont know how many the hype has). On my previous 2 bigger ship boardings i havent lost a single marine.

Any suggestions? I do have enough game cash to invest in extra hardware if required.

fullmetal66
x3tc

Post by fullmetal66 » Sat, 23. Oct 10, 12:19

only thing i can think of is to have 6 marines on your M7M (the max a M6 can take) and fire two pods at the Hyperion.

The its matter of saving and reloading.
Save at each critical point, pods hitting ship, deck 1 clear etc. You know the score.