Khaak Destroyer vs Sabre + NPCs

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

KRTac
x3tc

Khaak Destroyer vs Sabre + NPCs

Post by KRTac » Mon, 27. Dec 10, 15:38

TL;DR: I managed to kill a Khaak Destroyer with 2 indestructible NPCs and my Sabre.

So I just started playing yesterday and I got to the part where I get 3 additional rapiers and 2 NPCs to go and patrol some sectors. Everything goes well until Circle Of Labour, where two shiny new Khaak Destroyers!! where waiting for me.

After trying to get near one of them a couple of times, I noticed that they have a little whole in the rear (engine or whatnot), and I figured I might be able to hide in there. So, after about 20 attempts to get in the whole, I was so frustrated that I finally got on the internet and tried ti find some way of taking them down. After searching for answers on this forum, i found out that it's in fact a random sector invasion that's been incorporated in the plot, and that the destroyers weren't supposed to be there.

So, I had the option to start a new campaign all over again (I didn't have any savegames before I got the mission) or try to take down the destroyers.

So, today I continued playing and I managed to get in the whole in the second or third try. After about a half an hour of shooting and managing the speed and position so that I don't hit the ship, the destroyers shields where down and the ship was destroyed shortly after.

I wouldn't have been able to do any of this if it weren't for the two indestructible NPC ships from the plot.

So, I think this is a situation that shouldn't happen. EGOSOFT, pleas fix this.

Omini
x4

Post by Omini » Mon, 27. Dec 10, 15:41

Congrats, but if it's a bug/glitch report then I believe you should post it in the Technical section.