Asteroid Silicon yield/ Silicon Factory building X3TC (noob)

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

TheGoldElite
x4

Asteroid Silicon yield/ Silicon Factory building X3TC (noob)

Post by TheGoldElite » Tue, 12. Apr 11, 03:18

Hey I was just in omicron lyrae, and I scanned all the asteroids, one had a yield of 31. It's early in the game for me, and I'm a total noob for efficient factory running. Is it worth buying a Ore mine to put on it? I'm assuming I just hire the nearby TL, load the ore mine in, but then what? I noted there are 3 stations in the sector which require silicon. Is it worth the investment? I have a spare demeter tanker which I could set to Buy/Sell station automanage, jumprange 2 sectors. Is this a good idea? any thoughts on buy /sell prices though : S My account atm is 1.2mil. Worth the investment??

wathman00
x4

Post by wathman00 » Tue, 12. Apr 11, 03:31

In general, you'll want to put mines on Silicon asteroids with 26 yield or better. It isn't terribly great profit per hour, but it isn't bad at that yield. That's also the smallest size you'll be able to effectively make a self sufficient energy loop with I think.

Catra

Post by Catra » Tue, 12. Apr 11, 03:33

you tell the captain to drop the freight and select where to put it.
For mines: always start from the highest yield roid down to the lowest, and never use an M sized mine.

You could probably get away with setting the Ecell price at 12, and put the price of ore to one credit below average price.

No, it isn't worth the investment, getting a ship and slapping trade mk3 on it would be better, or some cattle ranches + wheat farms.

TheGoldElite
x4

Post by TheGoldElite » Tue, 12. Apr 11, 03:49