Recommendations on a good carrier / hanger?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

littleheadspin
x3tc

Recommendations on a good carrier / hanger?

Post by littleheadspin » Tue, 17. May 11, 18:14

I need a ship that has a good sized hanger. I'm new to the game and haven't had the chance to try out every ship, you may have seen me asking questions all the time on here 8)

I wont be piloting it myself, but I do need something that is:

Good Speed
Good Shielding
Good Sized hanger

Starlight_Corporation
x4

Post by Starlight_Corporation » Tue, 17. May 11, 18:24

Just checked the encyclopedia, the only ship that combines those 3 well is the Terran Tokyo. All others tend to have one of the 3 chosen stats weaker.
The issue however is, it requires Terran weapons to have any offensive capacity, and those might be hard to come by if the Terran economy isn't up & running.

If you want a Commonwealth M1, the shields are set on 2X3GJ (6GJ total) with 3 exceptions: Teladi Condor (8GJ, but lacks speed & has a relative small hangar) Pirate Galleon (4GJ, average speed & tiny hangar) Split raptor (4GJ, high speed & largest hanger)

My advice for a commonwealth M1 would be a Split Raptor nontheless, the sheer amount of fighters(65) it can hold, coupled with it's speed (allowing it to outrun most capitals) makes sure most opponents are shredded when they try chasing this.
Runner up CW M1 are the Boron Shark (average hangar, but nice speed) and Colossus (good hangar but average speed) They both perform nicely.

In the end it mainly depends on your style of battle to decide wich one to go for.
Last edited by Starlight_Corporation on Tue, 17. May 11, 18:34, edited 1 time in total.

littleheadspin
x3tc

Post by littleheadspin » Tue, 17. May 11, 18:33

hmm.. :?

which one would would be good overall out of all the carrier type ships?