[AP] M7's: Tiger or Nothing

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

kardgar
x3tc

[AP] M7's: Tiger or Nothing

Post by kardgar » Thu, 19. Jan 12, 08:01

Let me preface this with saying that I was a Panther pilot before the adjustments and see no problem that the Light Carrier Frigate is now a little more like a light carrier (even if it still hits like a destroyer with slightly less energy).

However when looking at M7's nothing comes close to the all round power of the Tiger with a close runner up as the Panther, even in its diminished form. Peak laser generator, IBL's on the nose and broadsides and flak up/down/back, solid shield and excellent speed and good cargo room. There's just no reason to not fly a Tiger for that all one in M7. If you wanted the Carrier experience in an M7 then you'd go back to the Panther M7 with its 20 docking bays.

Normally this would be par for M7's, but seeing as a pass was made through M7's balancing I'm curious why more Light Destroyer/Carrier distinction and changes weren't made across the board. Perhaps the Astraeus or Cerberus should lose their hanger bays (one or the other) and be beefed up to light destroyer status instead of the Argon having two Light Carrier Frigates.

There's so much redundancy in the Argon M7's I'm surprised things weren't adjusted more radically. The Teladi have the Shrike which can mount Anti-Capital weapons albeit ammo based, so they can compete. The Paranid have 50% more shielding than most other M7's and 4 broadside IBL's (one of which with six hanger bays). The Argon have two Ultra-Light Carrier flak boat M7's?