Noob question, ship point of viewing.

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

pinkbunny

Noob question, ship point of viewing.

Post by pinkbunny » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 06:03

I am sorry if this question has been asked before. I searched for it, however, the phrasing of the question is a little odd.

I am currently playing X2. I feel I should play it before X3. I have earned enough money to buy some larger ships, build a fleet. I have a question about combat with a fleet.

When in combat, do I have to stay in the POV of my main ship? Or any ship at all? Is there any way to make the orders, zoom out, and watch the action?

I assume the answer is, "no." Is this also the case for X3? Are you unable to have a birds-eye view of the combat?

Morkonan
x3tc

Post by Morkonan » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 06:18

I can only speak in regards to what knowledge I have of X3:Terran Conflict, but what you can do is target different ships in your fleet, use the F1 key to switch to a view of them, then use the external camera controls, especially the + and - keys for zoom, and then zoom out from the battle. The bigger the ship you have targeted, the larger the zoom radius.

But, no, there's no free-flying camera you can use to view the battle in X3TC, that I know of. Though, I suppose, you could create some cheap ships, target those and use the view commands, but the enemy will likely destroy them.

Edit-Add: Note: If I am flying a large ship with turrets, especially ones dedicated to flak, I will often zoom out and get a third-person view when encountering a swarm of fighters. This way, I can keep my flak turret's field of fire positioned correction towards the largest grouping of fighters .

vtecem
x4

Post by vtecem » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 15:55