Star Destroyers? Star Destroyers. And bump maps.

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Phraggah
x3ap

Star Destroyers? Star Destroyers. And bump maps.

Post by Phraggah » Mon, 7. May 12, 01:50

So after seeing like, thirty "Are there Star Wars ships :? " threads I decided to take a go at it.

I'm starting off with a Star Destroyer rolling through a fleet of Xenon ships with it would be flippin' awesome.

Anyway, I'm not an expert at Max by any stretch of the word, I do have a good amount of experience working in a 3d environment and creating content for other game engines.

(Thumbnails)
[ external image ]

I think it looks pretty good all things considered.

[ external image ]

I was thinking I must have been reaching the polycap of not-laggyness but then I opened up the Colossus and found out that it had like 30k polys so I'm probably going to add more detail to the mesh.

I do have a few questions for more veteran modders, though.

I've got the thing in game, but it looked a little flat so I made a bump map.

[ external image ]

I know Photoshop like the back of my hand so it wasn't hard. Not bragging or anything. :sceptic:

But I put it in game and it did nothing. Literally nothing. So I say to myself "Great..."

I open up some of the bumpmaps from the game to see whats up, and they don't use nvidia's texture filter. I'm a little confused so I just take off the filter.

[ external image ]

Wow, that was easy. I'm so good at this already I've only been modding for like two weeks and I'm alr--

[ external image ]

Oh god what's going on I'm no good with computer... @_@

So there are a few things going on here:

1. What the deal with normal maps in this game?