Mission / NPC sounds, voices, and movies

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Ameer Nuub
x3tc

Mission / NPC sounds, voices, and movies

Post by Ameer Nuub » Thu, 19. Jul 12, 13:45

I'm not a coder / modder; just tweak things like most on a user level.

I know where the files are and how to change them for the soundtrack and laser / ship sounds... my question is; are all NPC and mission voices and small, square, in-ship "movies" also located in a .cab file, and can you alter those as well in the same fashion?

Thanks!

Cavemonkey

Post by Cavemonkey » Fri, 20. Jul 12, 06:19

Those files are located under the "mov" folder in your X3TC directory. If you go to that directory, you should see a bunch of ".dat" files. These are actually mp3 and mp4 sounds and videos. Just change the file extensions to ".mp3" and they should play on Windows Media Player whether the selected file is a video or a sound (you might get a message but just close it). 00144 contains all the voices in X3TC and 00810 contains the intro video. Continue changing the extensions to ".mp3" until you find what you are looking for. Hope this helps!
You want something from me? Are you empty of the mind?

Ameer Nuub
x3tc

Post by Ameer Nuub » Fri, 20. Jul 12, 13:29

Cavemonkey wrote:Those files are located under the "mov" folder in your X3TC directory. If you go to that directory, you should see a bunch of ".dat" files. These are actually mp3 and mp4 sounds and videos. Just change the file extensions to ".mp3" and they should play on Windows Media Player whether the selected file is a video or a sound (you might get a message but just close it). 00144 contains all the voices in X3TC and 00810 contains the intro video. Continue changing the extensions to ".mp3" until you find what you are looking for. Hope this helps!