X 3 Reunion first experience, trading and factory help

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Benzedrex

X 3 Reunion first experience, trading and factory help

Post by Benzedrex » Thu, 2. Aug 12, 19:24

Hey there, ive started a game on x3 and have only really focused on trading so far, ive used my mercury to scout out the surrounding systems and have done a few teade only gaining about 10k in overall profits
im shootibg to building a self sustaining complex and was hopeing if anyone had some tips on money making and complex setups

DrakenKin
x3tc

Post by DrakenKin » Thu, 2. Aug 12, 20:31

I am not an expert so take my advice with a grain of salt.

If I had to restart the game i would set complexes on asteroid belts for ore and silicon. Assign a ship to buy cells at best prices. And assign a ship to sell ore/silicon at best prices.

My experience with complexes was, as long as i had simple factories selling products i was making profit. As soon as i made a huge, closed loop complex things got out of hand and i started losing money. Even of the individual factories were profitable when they were not unified.

I think part of the reason is because once you have a complex, 90% of the products will become intermediary commodities and you can't customize their selling price anymore. Only the buying price... which is just... unfortunate. If you have excess intermediaries you have to choose between either wasting the extra production and not selling it, or risk opening trade for it (through assigning a ship to sell at best price) and running out. I haven't found a way to set a "minimum stock" to always keep and only sell the excess beyond that. And again, can't set the selling price.