Navigating the Terran Sectors and the Earth Torus

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Bill Huntington
x3tc

Navigating the Terran Sectors and the Earth Torus

Post by Bill Huntington » Wed, 5. Dec 12, 03:18

I’ve learned two things about navigating the Earth sectors over many hours of game time:
1. When I was a new pilot, the Earth sectors were a nightmare.
2. When I was a more experienced pilot, the Earth sectors were a nightmare.

Earth Torus is one of the few sources of Jump Drives in the Terran Sectors. When I have an Elephant depot ship near the Gate of the Asteroid Belt, I will run a Jump Drive shuttle with a fast ship to the Earth Torus, and jump it back. You can also safely send a ship back to Moon Sector from the Torus.

You can move your personal ship around a Terran sector without a problem. You can move your other ships around a sector if you are not in the sector. But if you are in the sector, collision avoidance becomes active. Terran sector are huge, but the Terran stations are also huge. At the Military Base in Moon sector, I dock 20+ km from the center of the station. And collision avoidance occurs if your other ships come into that zone. So if I have to move ships around in a Terran sector, I plan a route around this collision avoidance zone, usually close to the middle of the space between stations.

For docking your other ships, they get sent to beginning of the station landing pattern, and sometimes that is far out. They will dock eventually but it can take a while. If I tell a ship to follow me, sometimes it gets pushed far away from me if I am within this zone. If I tell a ship to move to a position, it will get pushed out of this avoidance zone.