[X3 AP] New player, hub plot gate connections, PHQ questions (spoilers)

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

toppe

[X3 AP] New player, hub plot gate connections, PHQ questions (spoilers)

Post by toppe » Mon, 4. Feb 13, 22:36

Hi all. I started playing X3 AP with the BP about a month ago. I began with the humble merchant Argon start and have been enjoying the missions and building a trade/production network.

I just finished the main Argon plot with my Skiron, and have also finished the Hub and PHQ plots now (I think). I have full control of the Hub after Mahi Ma was rescued, however it is still connected to the (Kingdom End/Rolks Drift), (Queen's Harbor/Queen's Retribution), and (Segaris/Megnir) gates. My main question is this:
Are there long term ramifications to leaving gates connected to Terran space? ATF ships (but not Terran or Aldrin) are still blue to me, and so are Boron. Since Boron and ATF fight, and they both have a lot of traffic through the Hub, there is almost a constant battle happening in the Hub sector which leaves goodies for one of my freighters to collect and the battles seem to pose no threat to me. Will the endless fighting have a negative effect at some point, like permanent destruction of valuable ships or stations? If not, are there other connections that I could make that would cause even more useful fighting? A three way fight between Boron/Split/Terran or Yaki/Argon/Xenon could be possible, or connecting a war sector to a race core sector. Has anyone tried anything like that over a longer period of time?

I also have a couple secondary questions, any help or links would be appreciated:
1. For the PHQ, I am looking at placing it in the Unknown sector east of Legend's Home. Any better locations or reasons not to put it there?