Unclear on the benefit of CAG/CLS

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Maziou
x4

Unclear on the benefit of CAG/CLS

Post by Maziou » Sat, 8. Jun 13, 10:00

It is surprisingly difficult to find any info on what benefit using the CAG/CLS software provides. Plenty on Google or Youtube that explains "how" to use them or "what" they are used for. But this information basically just boils down to, "You can use these to supply resources for your complex".

I can do that anyway, by setting a TS's homebase as the complex, and then tell it to buy ware for best price.

Could somebody please explain what kind of benefit CAG/CLS provides to supplying a complex, that a simple "buy ware for best price" can't provide?

Thanks.

TTD
x4

Post by TTD » Sat, 8. Jun 13, 10:16

With CLS,although I am not experienced with that one, I can say that it automates trading with npc stations or moving stock between your own stations.
Others can explain that better.

As for CAG...
When you set a station/or complex running with TS's homebased there,you need a TS for each commodity that the station/or complex needs or sells.
Typically this would be minerals ,food energy ,crystals etc.

When I set up a station i used to do like you,which meant I needed at least two TSs.
If it was an open complex,then many more were needed.

Now I just have one GAG to learn the ropes buying in resources.
When he/she levels up, I can reset it to also sell the products.
Thus I only really need one CAG instead of two or more TSs on Best buy/or sell... routines.

SIMON POPPLEWELL
x3tc

Post by SIMON POPPLEWELL » Sat, 8. Jun 13, 10:37