X3AP Docking and SETA issues

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

temitten

X3AP Docking and SETA issues

Post by temitten » Sat, 22. Jun 13, 12:04

Hello there, I'm new to X3 but I've been playing it extensively for the last couple of days and I really enjoy it. There are however two issues that are really annoying to me:

I am currently using a Panther Raider and I feel like I should make use of the hangar so I carry a bunch of fighters as well as a couple of freighter drones. The fighters sometimes dock when I tell them to, about half of the time I guess, otherwise they just hang around about 2 km from my ship waiting indefinitely. Sometimes I can get them to dock if I try to order them 1 at a time, which is quite tedious as it means every ship has to temporarily leave the wing. This doesn't always work though, so maybe it doesn't really do anything to help and the times when I've got them to dock this way might have been pure luck.

With freighter drones the issue is much worse, I've never managed to get a freighter drone to dock and only a small fraction of the time do I manage to get them to transfer freight to me. Which makes them pointless as it seems to me they cannot be manually collected (by running in to them) unless their cargobay is empty. So what happens is I send them out to shop for me, I ask them to transfer freight or dock at my ship, they return to about 2 km and stay there until I either crash in to them or give up.

While trying to find a solution to this problem I haven't found that others are experiencing the same problems as I do so hopefully I am doing something wrong that can be corrected.