PAC Energy Issues

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

johnfrancisv
x3ap

PAC Energy Issues

Post by johnfrancisv » Mon, 8. Jul 13, 21:32

Hello! I'm very new to the X universe (and space sims in general) but after a few tutorials I'm catching on quickly. There's one issue that I haven't quite been able to crack yet, however. I'm in Argon space and managed to acquire a Buster Raider pretty cheap. One of the first major upgrades I put on it was to the guns; the wiki said that Particle Accelerator Cannons give you good bang for relatively little buck. The problem is that whenever I go to fire I run out of energy almost immediately. I never thought I would say this, but I'm almost missing impulse ray emitters as my primary guns.

So, what's the solution? First off, is there any way to upgrade the reactor in my ship, or some similar solution? Otherwise, is my best bet to just buy more guns and put them in the other gun bays of my ship? It looks like the Buster Raider has four gun bays with six guns each, though I may be misinterpreting the HUD. Should I just stagger my shots in a three round burst kind of style?

Even better, does anyone have their preferred loadout for a Buster? I've heard that it is a pretty standard/reliable entry level interceptor, so I assume there's a lot of data already out there on it. I just assumed that ammo would be the least of my worries... aim is already kind of the primary issue ;-)

Anyway, help would be appreciated! I'm also open to selling the Buster and grabbing another ship if you guys think it's crap. Money isn't an issue, I've been picking up Mercuries when I see them for a bargain and just have them remote trading in the background.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Mon, 8. Jul 13, 21:35

Which X game?