X3TC (V.3.2): Boarding race TL ...

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Czorneboh
x3

X3TC (V.3.2): Boarding race TL ...

Post by Czorneboh » Wed, 18. Sep 13, 20:48

Hi, guys, boarding noob here requesting assistance...

I spent a lot of time reading up on this topic here in the forum and thought i had a pretty good theoretical understanding of the process. But i fail miserably trying to board my first TL.

After spacewalking a couple of pirate/yaki M6s and getting a few marines trained, i finally thought i should be able to go for the bigger fish.

I chose the Split TL in ZD as target.
My setup:
M3 Xperimental: Shield suppression, mission command
M7M Kraken: pod deployment
Marine team: 5 with 3-4* Fighting, 3-4* total

The TL has 5*200MJ shielding and adv firewall.
Getting the pods to the hull works about 7 out of ten times, which is to be expected.
But:
I loose the first marines immediately after hull breach. None make it past deck 3.

Alternatively i tried:
Spacewalking with a Dragon: last marine dies on deck 3
Spacewalking with a TP and 10 marines: last marine dies on deck 3
Ion'ing everything of the ship, pod/ spacewalk: last marine dies on deck 3
Buying 5 additional marines to bolster sheer numbers (2* fighting, 1-2* total) due to the rest of my marines still being trained at some outpost: last marine dies on deck 3 and at least 3 of them never make it to the hull but go stargazing instead. (This i can't understand at all: 2 pods are fired from the Kraken, 6-7 guys reach the hull, but 3 or 4 drift about 2 km behind the target and don't even bother to catch up.)

I've spent two nights on this and it took what felt like a 100 tries. I never even got to the core once.
So: What am i doing wrong? What can i try next?
Please advise.

Vayde
x3tc

Post by Vayde » Wed, 18. Sep 13, 21:15