[X3TC] Missile question

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

mtlmaks
x3ap

[X3TC] Missile question

Post by mtlmaks » Fri, 1. Nov 13, 04:58

Hi,

I'm currently studying laser and missile layouts, since I got myself some bigger vessels recently. I was mainly flying around in M3 fighters doing skirmishes until now, but I recently got myself a Gladiator for one of the Final Fury missions, which successfully destroyed that Kha'ak station with its Tomahawk Heavy Missiles. More recently I got a M6 Heavy Centaur and a M7 Cerberus. I never fought capital ships, but I read ppl saying that the Cerberus is no good as an anti capital fighter, unlike the M7M Minotaur with it's Hammer Heavy Torpedos. Now, when looking at the missile stats, I'm wondering:

Range Max Damage Speed
Tomahawk Heavy Missile 43 120 625 000 169
Hammer Heavy Torpedo 75 900 300 000 253
Hammerhead Missile 86 000 1 250 000 172

Why would the Minotaur be better than even the Gladiator for taking out capital ships, having, despite better range and speed, less than half of the damage. But even more so, why would the Cerberus, hell, even the Heavy Centaur not be better with Hammerheads at double the damage of the Tomahawk and better range and speed...?! I understand that they can't mount them in turrets, but if you equip the turrets with anti-fighter/M6/M7 weapons, couldn't you be as efficient if not better with either the Centaur or the Cerberus, than with the Minotaur, with missiles against big targets...? :roll:
Last edited by mtlmaks on Fri, 1. Nov 13, 05:42, edited 3 times in total.

mtlmaks
x3ap

Post by mtlmaks » Fri, 1. Nov 13, 05:00

Sorry for the bad formatting of the numbers, it looked better when writing the post... But I think you get the point of the question anyway... ;)

riceygringo
x4

Post by riceygringo » Fri, 1. Nov 13, 05:13