Complexes vs CLS/CAG in AP.

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Wheem
x4

Complexes vs CLS/CAG in AP.

Post by Wheem » Mon, 24. Mar 14, 14:39

I'm still fairly new to the game, especially the part where I actually have enough money to do very much station building, and am having trouble building complexes that don't have tubing that looks weird and/or awful. Even when only placing a couple of stations, I just can't get the "tubing nodes" lined up the way that I'd like; once I'm looking at >= 10 stations I'm sure that it'd be a huge mess.

So I was thinking, is it a realistic option to use CLS/CAG pilots for supplying my own stations from one another? I'm actually not even sure how I would set that up, to be honest...maybe a CLS pilot (or plural?) with pickup/dropoff waypoints? All I've really done with those plugins, so far, is have an agent that bought supplies from NPC stations for his home base factory, and that doesn't seem very practical for larger numbers of stations - the amount of freighters required would get huge.

As an aside, are there any stations out there that can be "snapped" to one another with NumPad 5, and then moved a short distance one way or another and end up with straight tubing? CdrDave's youtube video made it look like his Teladianium complex was going to end up that way, but I have to do a good bit of moving and rotating with a Paranid 25 MJ Shield Production Plant and Large Soyery, and still can't get it to look right (but I guess I am a little picky...) If some stations can be complexed with straight tubing fairly easily, that'd help cut down the number of freighters and waypoints quite a bit.

Timsup2nothin

Post by Timsup2nothin » Mon, 24. Mar 14, 15:22

I fought the tubing battles, often for hours at a time. I won a few, lost even more, eventually conceded the war.