How to get rid of a Frigate?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Symont
x3ap

How to get rid of a Frigate?

Post by Symont » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 02:18

I'm playing the terran plot and i have to capture a caiman ts in a split sector to get information about the Terraformers....

Should be easy, but there's 3 xenon ships (2 m3 and 1 m7). This sector does not have many patrols or serious firepower to get rid of these ships and i can't do it either (i have 1 m3, 2 m4 and 2 m5). Is there a way to make them go away? Like luring them to another sector or calling/hiring help to do the job for me?

I'm still kind of new to the X series (TC is my first) so maybe the answer is obvious....

Thanks

Black_hole_suN

Post by Black_hole_suN » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 03:01

What ship are you flying?

The Xenon Q has a HUGE blindspot directly above and below it.. You can literally park another m7 there and the Q's weapons will not even see you (dont be intimidated by the turrets in these region - it doesnt work).. another blindspot is between the engine blocks, between the Q's body and "wings", or on the right side of the Q's tail (only left turrets work there)

you fire missiles such as Hornets and Specters from these blindspots. If you dont have money for missiles you can use energy efficient weaps like Plasma Burst Generators (pirate flamethrower) or Electromagnetic Plasma Cannon (Terran-made). You can also use amunition based Energy Bolt Chainguns (Teladi-made)

DrBullwinkle
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 03:16

1) If your M3 is the Cutlass from the Terran Defender plot, then you can just kill the Xenon Q M7. Use Spectre missiles if you do not feel up to a little gun fighting.