Mod compatibility questions...

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

k1ng r4t

Mod compatibility questions...

Post by k1ng r4t » Sun, 25. May 14, 21:19

Hey guys, so I really did try looking for this answer. And I've spent the better part of the last hour reading various modding threads. But I can't seem to find a straightforward answer...

I am a total mod noob other than DAO and ES which was pretty straightforward. I've gathered the plugin manager is a mod manager, so for PM compatible mods, does it find other compatibility issues automatically? And is there a way to know if a mod is compatible with the PM or with other mods? If it's not stated in the description does that generally mean it is or will I know after I dl it or what?

I'm particularly interested in the Halo mod. But I also see everyone saying how important it is to have the EMP mod. And now I've also come across the X3: Time of Truth mod which seems interesting. In a perfect world I'd like to use all 3 of these, but they all seem too massive to do so...but I can't find a way to know for sure. Lastly I'm sure I missed something here but I'm also not seeing much about if I have to start a new game for overhaul mods anyways or if it's integrated with my current game?

So I'm sorry if this IS a question that's been answered 100x, I know how annoying that can be, but I only found bits and pieces of what I'm asking yet not enough to make me confident enough to mess with my game file that I've put a lot of hours in already!

Thanks again :D

Joubarbe
xr

Post by Joubarbe » Sun, 25. May 14, 22:20

Generally speaking, don't mix overhaul mods together. Time of Truth is not compatible with the Halo mod.

Scripting/Modding is a lot more safe in X3 than in Elder Scrolls, because X3 has a powerful script language, and ES has unstable tools that have a lot of bugs.