X3AP-- Your "Go To" M3s Of Choice?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Monkeyfister
x3ap

X3AP-- Your "Go To" M3s Of Choice?

Post by Monkeyfister » Sun, 5. Oct 14, 21:13

M3s are the Fighter Class of the X3 Universe. They each have their uses, advantages, and faults. Lets discuss the best, the worst, and unique, new ways to use this class of ship.

I have been playing the same X3AP Argon Peacekeeper game for 14 months now. Before that, I played the same X3TC Humble Merchant game for about the same length of time.

Tried the Terran Starts-- just cannot get myself to like anything about Terrans, save for their 1960s-70s retro style of design.

At any rate, I have what I think is pretty solid experience with M3s, and find myself using Aamon Prototypes and Falcon Haulers almost exclusively, anymore.

All tolled, for fighting power/speed and shielding, the Aamon really beats out, IMHO, every other M3 in the Commonwealth. Filled with 8x HEPT, a PAC in each turret, it's a darned powerful little ship.

The other M3 hat I find extraordinarily useful is the Falcon Hauler. The other Falcon varients seem to be rubbish, but the Hauler does it all. It is not the Dogfighter that I would turn to first, but, loaded up with Tempest or Thunderbolt Missiles (100% missile fire probability), the Falcon Hauler becomes a very dangerous M3. Launch them from far away, have them empty their holds, and then dock, they can effectively re-balance the field of battle before the enemy even knows you're there.