[X3:AP] Trading Halp Please - holes in resource chain everywhere

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Motorsheep

[X3:AP] Trading Halp Please - holes in resource chain everywhere

Post by Motorsheep » Sat, 27. Feb 16, 19:12

Hey everyone - I'm fairly new to X, AP is my first game in the series. I've played some 10, 12 hours now, and all I'm really interested in for now is the trading and economy aspect of it.
I currently have 2 Mercury haulers trading in Argon space for me, and I'm familiar with the concept of TSE, Best Buy/Sell, and I'm using Navigation Satellites to monitor prices.

I've used my discoverer to uncover all argon and some boron and teladi space.

Now, after a few good runs that allowed me to equip a second Mercury, I've kind of hit a wall:

The common trade goods, i.e. ore and energy seem to be oversaturated with competition - everywhere I send my ships to sell, they report that someone else was faster. The Power Circle, Hole and Wall systems all have several solar plants, and prices in most of those are unacceptable. All the while Cloud Base SW is in desperate need for energy and the Ore Belt only has a single Solar Plant. Not to mention the fact that trading across multiple jumps for 6, 7 credits per freight unit is hardly worth it.

Ore has the opposite problem - most factories that are within 2-3 sectors don't need it anymore.

And with the other goods I have the following problem:

Every single factory is selling their product at a price higher than any buyer is willing to pay, because they're missing one or more resources, or because demand is so high.

There is only a single crystal fab in all of Argon space, and it's selling its crystals at 200-300 credits above the asking price at any solar plant.

Cahoona's are expensive because of a lack of spices. Spices are hardly available anywhere.