[X3AP] Wraith Missile Effectiveness

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

joe15000

[X3AP] Wraith Missile Effectiveness

Post by joe15000 » Sat, 30. Apr 16, 00:16

Hi,

I am struggling a bit with the wraith missile.

I am new to X3, I finished the X3 TC plot recently and now finished several plots in X3AP to get to the poisoned paranid start.

After finishing this, I built up my small empire with the Hyperion and finally was able to build a nice wraith/typhoon/wasp complex.

Then I went to Xenon sector 347 to finally test my Hyperion Vanguard with the Wraith missile against Qs and Ks.

Holy shit was I disappointed. I previously read in forums, in the Wiki and Reddit that only "a few" wraith missiles are enough to deal with Qs and Ks.

Someone wrote he stayed at 10k range and used 5 wraith missiles to take out a Q.

Now either I am doing something completely wrong, or the game has been seriously rebalanced since then but to take out a Q I need between 20 and 40 wraith missiles. For a K, I need close to 100.

With the Q I noticed that it shoots down a lot of the warheads, but still.

There was a group of 4 Qs, a K and some Js that I just didn't have enough missiles to deal with. I read before that with the Hyp Vang. and Wraith/Typhoon missiles you can easily take out a Xenon sector - this appears false however.

Can anyone enlighten me on where this discrepancy between every online post and my game reality comes from? (and yes, I am well within range for the missiles, mostly around 10km distance when I fire wraith salvos - or typhoon which seem to be almost pointless against Qs or Ks).

Thanks!
Joe

RAVEN.myst
x3tc

Post by RAVEN.myst » Sat, 30. Apr 16, 01:59

OK, none of the above is answering the OP's question, which seems to be "how to use Wraiths effectively?"