Super HDD activity caused by Albion Prelude - fragmented video file

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict, X³: Albion Prelude or X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

X-Me

Super HDD activity caused by Albion Prelude - fragmented video file

Post by X-Me » Wed, 18. May 16, 14:49

Yesterday I started playing Albion Prelude.
I noticed something I'm not comfortable with and I'm here with the hope that the issue can be resolved or at least mitigated.

Whenever I Comm to somebody and his animated portrait appears in the top right corner of the screen... or also when I'm docked at a station and I look at the wares in the Trade window and the spinning blue image of the selected ware appears in the top right corner of the screen...
... my hard disk starts working like crazy.

The noise is unmistakable because the hard disk is currently outside of the PC case and I can listen to it very well.
As soon as that window is shown, and a video starts in it, my HDD begins working abnormally. As soon as the window is gone, the HDD stops working and is silent again. Every time.

While this might not be a concern to most, believe it or not, that super-activity is the kind that shortens the life of a unit considerably. So I would like to stop it.
Anybody knows what causes it? It's the animated video being shown, alright, but... 'why'?

I searched around for ways to prevent that window from showing, or at least animating, but haven't found anything.
Is it even possible to have a still image rather than an animation?

Allan F
x3ap

Post by Allan F » Wed, 18. May 16, 15:09

Get a SSD, and install the game there.
Maverick: Requesting permission for flyby.
Air Boss Johnson: That's a negative ghostrider, the pattern is full.
Goose: No. No, Mav, this is not a good idea.
Maverick: Sorry Goose, but it's time to buzz a Split.
Split: Split now give you .... Aaaarrriiiigh.

RAVEN.myst
x3tc