Docking woes

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

risingfish

Docking woes

Post by risingfish » Sun, 19. Feb 17, 18:56

I just started playing Albion X3, and a beautiful game it is, but for the life of me I can't get my extra ship to dock. I started the game as a Humble Trader as most tutorials suggest. I've not found a solution via google yet, so I thought I would come to the source. Has anyone found a reliable way to get your wingman to dock?

I checked the dock and I was the only ship docked when I landed so there was room for the wingman.
~R

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Sun, 19. Feb 17, 19:21

It depends rather. Only one station docking place is ever reserved for the player. All other slots can be reserved by NPCs that may be in transit to the station, even if still several sectors away.

There can another issue if you are IS with the ship docking (which you obviously are if you are already docked there). The ship gets near to the docking arm and stops just short of the sweet spot for docking. Every 5 seconds it shifts a tiny bit up and forward, but this can take a while to actually trigger docking. Going OOS or engaging SETA usually gets the docking over with - but neither are available if you are already docked.

Lastly some large stations (eg Terran or Aldrin) have such large collision boxes that AI controlled ship will approach and then head off out again when trying to dock. Being OOS is the best solution for this problem.

Moving from Tech Sp to X Trilogy Universe (gameplay) forum.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

risingfish

Post by risingfish » Sun, 19. Feb 17, 19:22

Nm, I was able to go into the sector map and order the ship to dock. Is there an easier way?
~R

X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
x4