X3TC vanilla player seeking guidance in path forward

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

g0regrind
x3tc

X3TC vanilla player seeking guidance in path forward

Post by g0regrind » Fri, 28. Apr 17, 01:43

First of all: This game is phenomenal.

I started playing X3TC last year and was quickly fascinated by the endless
possibilities, however lost interest after attempting the Hub storyline as my first major questline in an M4. I don't know how I ended up attempting this one before any of the other story missions, but I guess I triggered the event at some point and simply went for it full blast.

Recently, after playing Stellaris' Utopia DLC extensively, but quickly getting frustrated with the end-game I remembered X3.

The freedom and complexity in this game are mind-boggling. I love when I can find out about game-changing features on a daily basis. The game sometimes feels like learning a new programming language. There is a lot of trial and error, but when the challenges are overcome the satisfaction is substantial.

I just recently discovered that there are unique and relatively rare ships, that can in fact be captured. Of course I was aiming to get my hands on an Paranid Hyperion Vanguard. After setting up about 30 factories and building a combat fleet, I set out to train marines and decided the OTAS Sirokos would be my ideal boarding ship. However, the grind necessary to get to Rank 10 at the OTAS company is getting increasingly frustrating.

I was enthralled when I set up my first small squadron of fighters. Then they crashed into my attack target one by one. Equipping, managing and commanding multiple Wings of combat ships, most of which crash into targets like immobile Pirate Bases makes large scale combat seem rather flawed.