Massive FPS improvement (v4.30)

General discussions about X Rebirth.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

AndrewR
x3

Massive FPS improvement (v4.30)

Post by AndrewR » Fri, 8. Dec 17, 01:40

I just started playing v4.30 of X:Rebirth and of all the changes, the most noticeable is a significant increase in frames-per-second.

It has more of less doubled the FPS.

Has Vulkan been implemented in this release, or is it due to a combination of improvements?

For reference I am using an AMD R9 270 with Intel i5-3570K and 8GB RAM.

Andrew

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
x4

Post by CBJ » Fri, 8. Dec 17, 10:01

No, we haven't changed the graphics API for the non-VR version of the game. We've made a number of improvements that should help with performance in various situations, but a doubling of the framerate would surprise me. However it's possible, I guess, that in some very specific situation, perhaps one also involving some bug that has been fixed, that might happen.

AndrewR
x3

Post by AndrewR » Fri, 8. Dec 17, 11:53

Thanks for the confirmation, CBJ.

The framerate increase is significant. Although I have not used any framerate tracking function - the experience has improved from "okay" to "butter smooth" for the most-part, particularly around stations.

Two other things.

1. It seems to take a bit longer to save the game.

2. Market has seriously shifted (not in my favour) - such as fewer Podkletnovs on sale, and the buy/sell price gaps have shrunk. Not sure if this is temporary and will rectify over time.

Andrew

dizzy
x4

Post by dizzy » Mon, 11. Dec 17, 22:58

If you are using regular v-sync then a 5FPS boost can give you an effective double of performance in certain situations. If previously your FPS was hovering below your monitor's refresh rate (say below 60Hz) then, because of v-sync, that would have resulted in an effective 30FPS. But if now with the optimizations you are hovering over 60 that would result in an effective 60FPS, double what you had before.