Doing a bit of modding (beginner questions)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Hotshot22
x4

Doing a bit of modding (beginner questions)

Post by Hotshot22 » Thu, 19. Apr 18, 11:51

Hey guys!

I'm quite new to modding X and I've been reading about anything I could find on Rebirth modding howtos, but I still have a few question and I hope you can help me out a bit :-)
  • I've made a mod which let's the player initate the smalltalk minigame; this is done rather easily via "XML Patching". But, I cannot get rid of the following "warnings" in the debuglog, which I get for every changed .xml:
    Ignoring root node 'diff' in XML file

Code for 'npc_itemtrader.xml':

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!-- MiningSupplier, JunkDealer, SpaceFarmer, ShipTechnician, EquipmentVendor, FoodMerchant, DroneTrader, ArmsDealer, RecruitingOfficer, BlackMarket, HumanResources -->
    <diff>
    	<replace sel="/mdscript[@name='NPC_Itemtrader']/cues/cue[@name='OnPlatformPopulation_Itemtrader']/cues/cue[@name='DefaultComm']/actions/do_else/do_if[@value='not $actor.$SmalltalkDone? and player.age lt @$actor.$TopicTimeout']">
    		<do_if value="not $actor.$SmalltalkDone? and player.room == $actor.room">
    			<add_player_choice_sub text="{1002,900000}" section="gSmalltalk_start" position="top_right" baseparam="event.param2" />
    		</do_if>
    	</replace>
    </diff>

• What I haven't figured out is on how to do "the same" (replacing code) in LUA files... like reducing the weapon-mods install price:
    "menu_trader_transfer_weaponmods.lua"
    I just need to change the "sortwares" variable, but how? I don't think that patching (as in xml) is possible, so it has to be done some other way and that's what I've come up with (which doesn't work by the way^^):

Code: Select all

local function init()
    	-- iterate through menus