[QUESTION] Automatic undocking when using custom orders

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

infectedm

[QUESTION] Automatic undocking when using custom orders

Post by infectedm » Fri, 15. Apr 22, 21:10

Disclaimer: I'm relatively new to modding in this game. So please forgive me if I'm missing something very obvious.

I'm trying to write an aiscript mod for ware distribution (similar to the popular mules mod). Basically it works like this:
- Pick up wares at location A
- Deliver wares to location B
- Check if there is a return trade B -> A
- Pick up wares at location B
- Deliver wares to location A

It's implemented as default order that uses create_trade_order to queue the delivery flights. Only one flight is scheduled at a time, so that on arrival, the ship falls back to the default order, can evaluate the new situation and queue the next flight.

Now the problem is, whenever this fallback to the default order happens, the ship undocks from the station (before the default order is even initialized). This causes the ship to undock and immediately redock. I'm unable to find the cause for this.
My theory is that custom orders are treated in a different way than "vanilla" orders. To test this, I created an exact copy of the DockAndWait order (order.dock.wait.xml), changed the ID and name to something else and tried it out in-game. And indeed, the ship got stuck in a dock-undock loop instead of staying docked like it does when using the vanilla order.

Am I missing any setting that is causing this behavior? Is it a bug? Is it intentional? Any support is highly appreciated.

thijso

Re: [QUESTION] Automatic undocking when using custom orders

Post by thijso » Sun, 17. Apr 22, 10:26