[QUESTION] Change flight behaviors

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Rovor

[QUESTION] Change flight behaviors

Post by Rovor » Fri, 29. Apr 22, 22:48

Hi there!

I'm totally new to X modding and I want to create mod that changes bombers attack scripts.
As I understood - it should be some standard flight behaviors for the ships that they use depending on situation.

To proceed I do really need to know the exact values of it. Could anyone help me to determine where is these behaviors are located?
I've already tried to seek through aiscripts/libraries/aiscripts.xsd/script_properties.

Thanks in advance!

euclid
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
x4

Re: [QUESTION] Change flight behaviors

Post by euclid » Sun, 1. May 22, 19:41

Rovor wrote:
Fri, 29. Apr 22, 22:48
I've already tried to seek through .... libraries/aiscripts.xsd
That's all there is imho; check lines 73-102 (ish).

Cheers Euclid
"In any special doctrine of nature there can be only as much proper science as there is mathematics therein.”
- Immanuel Kant (1724-1804), Metaphysical Foundations of the Science of Nature, 4:470, 1786

kuertee
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
x4

Post by kuertee » Mon, 2. May 22, 08:00

1. Extract the files required. If I remember, game data file 8 contains the game logic (Mission Director files, MD) and AI scripts.
2. Open one of the aiscripts and try to discern its logic. Aiscripts run sequentially down the file. Jumps are handled with “go to label”. Interrupt handlers (e.g. event object was attacked) stops the logic to execute the actions for that interrupt (e.g. fight or flee after was attacked event). When studying the files, ignore the patch nodes. They are version changes to the file - allowing updates to the files on the file without destroying the player’s game.
3. I recommend an IDE that pretty prints XML scripts. Eg. Allows collapse and expand of nodes.