Simulation optimization question

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

arjmaj
x4

Simulation optimization question

Post by arjmaj » Fri, 1. Jul 22, 02:36

Hi, im new with modding games, and X4 is the best candidate now (and i love this game).

Before i get in the guides and everything, i want to ask a quick question. Is it possible to mod the way the simulation works in the game? I know that is a heavely CPU bound game. I want to try to improve performance, playing late game at 10 fps its not fun. I have experience coding, but not for games. Having family with kids and work, i dont want to invest time in something that maybe is a limitation of the engine and can be only improved by the dev team.

Sorry for my english

alt3rn1ty
x4

Re: Simulation optimization question

Post by alt3rn1ty » Sat, 2. Jul 22, 10:09

I dont have any experience with modding X4, but do have a good feel for its performance and maybe can make a suggestion or two .. but honestly I dont think much can be done to help X4s performance.

First if you have not seen it have a read of Imperial Goods sticky post in the Technical support forum :
viewtopic.php?f=180&t=420952
CPU: At least a 4 core processor running at 4GHz or more from at earliest 2013. X4 is extremely CPU intensive to run and especially benefits from high single thread performance rather than large core counts. X4 will run on practically any x86-64 processor, even ones over 10 years old, but slower processors may result in very low frame rates in a lot of gameplay situations and could be considered unplayable to some players.
Personally I have a decent CPU (see signature) which mostly plays the game well, but occasionally I still see drops in FPS nearly down at the 30fps mark.