Destroyer load out for pirating?

Please post any spoilers for X4: Foundations here.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Damian Swift
x4

Destroyer load out for pirating?

Post by Damian Swift » Thu, 30. Jun 22, 14:16

Captured the freebie Paranid destroyer and want to turn it into a pirate ship (boarding etc...) But as I'm new to pirating I'm unsure what load out to put on the beast?

Terran shields, Argon plasma turrets, Terran main gun weapons?

Also how many marines would I need (say, for a marauder destroyer)?

All advice appreciated.

jlehtone
x4

Re: Destroyer load out for pirating?

Post by jlehtone » Thu, 30. Jun 22, 16:04

On the amount of marines:
Mechanics: viewtopic.php?p=5133564#p5133564
Tactics: viewtopic.php?p=5133942#p5133942

In other words, there is an approach that does not require large number of marines.
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.

LameFox
x4

Post by LameFox » Fri, 1. Jul 22, 11:15

You can't put Terran main guns on a Paranid destroyer, at least not in vanilla.

As far as the rest of the loadout goes, I honestly don't think it matters a lot. Terran shields are objectively better of course. I'd also pick paranid or split engines because manoeuvring behind a ship and staying there will be important while you disable it. Actually disabling it though will mostly be done via your main guns, which you don't get a say in, which is why I don't worry a lot about gear. I'd throw on arg flak and paranid L plasma just in case combat of some sort interrupts your boarding process but otherwise I mostly turn turrets off after the ship is disabled just to avoid accidents.