Instructions on how to put a custom ship model in the game Part 2

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Observe
xr

Instructions on how to put a custom ship model in the game Part 2

Post by Observe » Mon, 27. Feb 06, 23:20

Here is Part 2 of my Step by step instructions on how to put a custom ship model in the game. Part 1 showed you the procedure of how to modify an existing Argon Nova M3 in 3DS Max and get it back into the game as a custom ship. While most of the procedure here is the same, these new instructions will cover additional details if you are creating your ship from scratch instead of simply modifying an existing ship.

Would you like to be able to go from this in 3DS:

[ external image ]

To this in the game?:

[ external image ]

It's not that hard really. As a relative beginner, I created this model and these instructions in a couple of days. I'm sure an experienced 3D modeler could do much better in a shorter time.

I'm probably the last person who should be writing this, since I'm very new to 3D modeling in general, and to X3 modding in particular. But hey, if I can do it, so can you. Here's how.

Some of these steps are repeated from Part 1 so that you don't have to keep jumping back and forth.
We will be creating an M3 class ship based on the approximate size of the Argon Nova. We will be using Nova engines and lasers to keep things simple, and because I am usually on fairly good terms with the Argons. :)

Required software:
3DS Max design software. I'm using version 6. I don't know how compatible these instructions are with other versions. Currently there is a 30 day demo that you can download from Autodesk. I understand that GMax is a free alternative to the expensive 3DS Max, but I know nothing about that application. Other people in this forum may be able to help you with Gmax if you are interested.